Skip to: Main Content Search Navigation Secondary Navigation
College of Arts & Sciences

Physics Alumni - Where Are They Now?


Wilfred Konneker ’43, ‘47M earned a master’s in Physics. He established the Konneker Medal for Commercialization and Entrepreneurship to recognize excellence in innovation, invention, commercialization and entrepreneurship at Ohio University.

Physics and Astronomy alumni are working around the world in universities, research centers, business, industry and more.

Nobel Prize Winner—Ohio University alumnus Venkatraman Ramakrishnan, Ph.D. '76 won the 2009 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his work on the function of ribosomes.

Founder of Spintronics Center—Ohio University alumnus Jairo Sinova, B.S. ’94 established the Spin Phenomena Interdisciplinary Center at the Johannes Gutenberg University in Mainz, Germany. He is the Alexander von Humboldt Professor and leading specialist in the area of theoretical solid-state physics and pioneer in the theory of nanoscale magnetic materials.

Einstein Postdoctoral Fellowship Winner – Ohio University alumnus Jack Steiner, B.S. ‘06, has been named an Einstein Postdoctoral Fellow. Sponsored by NASA and administered by the Chandra X-Ray Center, the fellowship promotes research in high energy astrophysics and is considered to be one of the most prestigious postdoctoral fellowships in astrophysics

Read the Latest News on Physics Alumni

Where are they now?

Departmental Social Media

College of Arts & Sciences