Israel Urieli

Israel Urieli receiving his resolution from State Senator Jimmy Stewart

Featured Stories

Engineering professor recognized by Ohio Senate

Israel Urieli developed Web resource that saves students money

State Senator Jimmy Stewart (R-Albany) presented a resolution on the Ohio Senate floor yesterday to Israel Urieli, an associate professor of mechanical engineering at Ohio University.

Urieli was recently chosen as one of 10 college and university faculty members from across the state to receive the Ohio Board of Regents’ 2010 Faculty Innovator Award for his work to integrate technology into his thermodynamics class and help make course materials more affordable for his students.

Established in 2009, the Faculty Innovator Award recognizes outstanding faculty members from Ohio’s public universities, regional branch campuses, community colleges and adult career centers who have creatively integrated digital content into their courses that lowers the out-of-pocket cost of course supplies for students. Recipients are chosen through nominations from students, faculty and administrators.

In 1999, Urieli began to create a web-based supplement to the textbook material he used to teach his thermodynamics class. Then, during the 2008-09 winter quarter, he was awarded a faculty fellowship leave to develop a complete open-source, web-based learning resource called "Engineering Thermodynamics: A Graphical Approach," which has helped save his students approximately $175 per year in book costs.

“Professor Urieli is truly an innovator in the classroom who has worked to revolutionize the teaching of thermodynamics, enhance learning tools and save his students hundreds of dollars per year in textbook costs,” Stewart said. “I would like to congratulate Professor Urieli for receiving this award and applaud him for all he has done for Ohio University, his students and the entire Athens community.”

Sen. Stewart represents Ohio’s 20th Senate District, which includes Athens, Coshocton, Guernsey, Meigs, Monroe, Morgan, Muskingum, Noble and Washington counties.