President Roderick J. McDavis and the executive staff will welcome first-year Bobcats during Convocation.

Featured Stories

Move In 2010

President to welcome first-year students at Convocation

Event will instill pride and instruct in university traditions

On Monday, Sept. 6, Ohio University President Roderick J. McDavis, the executive staff and student leaders will take part in the annual tradition of welcoming the newest Bobcats at the First-Year Student Convocation.

The convocation brings together the approximately 4,000 students who will be entering OHIO in 2010 for a ceremony of welcome and university pride.

Faculty and staff are invited to attend the convocation to meet and welcome the newest members of the university's family.
Convocation day events include:

  • 2:30 p.m. - Convocation will be held in the Convocation Center on Richland Avenue. Resident Advisors (RAs) will lead students to the ceremony. Participation is required of all first-year students.
  • Students will get one of their first tastes of “The Most Exciting Band in the Land,” the Marching 110. Led by The Marching 110 and McDavis, students will process up Richland Avenue to the College Gate.
  • 3:30 pm. – Students will march through the College Gate onto College Green, symbolizing their entry into the university community. Participation is required of all first-year students. 
  • After marching, the class of 2014 will each sign Ohio University’s new Honor Code, a document drafted by Student Senate and approved by an overwhelming majority of the student body in recent elections.
  • 4 p.m. – The Student Involvement Fair will be held on the College Green to introduce students to the numerous ways they can become involved with the OHIO community.

Student Involvement Fair

Representatives from more than 200 campus organizations will be on hand to speak to first-year students during the Student Involvement Fair.

The fair, which is held on the College Green, has a new feature over last year – the addition of several plaques on the west portico wall of Templeton-Blackburn Alumni Memorial Auditorium. They honor the diversity of speakers who have visited campus. The new plaques include Cesar Chavez, Marion Anderson, Pearl S. Buck and Margaret Mead.

In case of inclement weather the Student Involvement Fair will be held on the concourse of the Convocation Center.

Related Links

Arrival Guide