Shields, Benoit, Braun

(L-R): Joe Shields, vice president for Research and Creative Activity and dean of the Graduate College along with Pam Benoit, executive vice president and provost, congratulate Roger Braun, winner of the Presidential Teacher Award

Photo courtesy of: College of Fine Arts

Featured Stories

Roger Braun, director of percussion, receives the 2016 Presidential Teacher Award

The School of Music, and the College of Fine Arts celebrate Roger Braun, professor and director of percussion studies, on his recent recognition as Ohio University’s 2017 Presidential Teacher. Braun was selected from 22 nominated portfolios from across the University.

"Braun's dedication to teaching, both in and out of the classroom, demonstrates his longstanding commitment to helping his students develop and thrive as outstanding musicians and people," said Elizabeth Sayrs, interim dean of the College of Fine Arts.

Christopher Hayes, the director of the School of Music, was not surprised upon hearing of Braun’s recognition, “he has a long history of outstanding, highly successful students. In addition to teaching multiple percussion instruments, and coordinating the logistics of percussion events, he dedicates a great deal of extra time and attention to all of his students.”

“What I find most exciting as a teacher culminates when my students achieve their proficiencies and begin to focus on developing their own personal strengths and interests, finding their own voice and path in the music world,” said Braun.

The Presidential Teacher Award, first presented in 2001, is held by the recipient for three years. This is the second year in a row that a Presidential Teacher comes from the College of Fine Arts. Tresa Randall, associate professor in the Dance Division, received the honor in 2015.

The nomination process for the Presidential Teachers Award, open to students, faculty, and staff, identifies a pool of candidates from which a final selection is made by a review committee made up of full time faculty, including representation by past Presidential Teachers, an undergraduate, and a graduate student.

“The decision is a consensus of the committee members review of the portfolio, classroom visits and interviews with both the faculty and chair or director,” said Howard Dewald, associate provost for faculty and academic planning.

Recipients are recognized for their excellence in teaching and meritorious academic pursuits both inside and outside the classroom, as acknowledged by peers and students.

“In general the characteristics that are important include teaching practices and innovations, student mentoring and advising, faculty mentoring as it pertains to instruction, influence on curriculum development, classroom demeanor and style, preparation, student engagement and attentiveness, among other things.”

An award ceremony was held Tuesday, Sept. 6, in the Baker Center. Presenters included Pam Benoit, executive vice president and provost, Joe Shields, vice president for research and creative activity and dean of the Graduate College, and Howard Dewald.

Finalists and winners of the Provost Teachers award, the Presidential Teachers award, and the Presidential Research Scholar award were all honored at the ceremony.

Associate Professor of Performance Studies of the School of Interdisciplinary Arts, Marina Peterson, was recognized as a finalist for this year’s Presidential Teacher Award at the Sept. 6 award ceremony.

Also honored were the 2016-2017 Presidential Research Scholars Michele Fiala, associate professor of oboe with the School of Music, and Arthur Werger, professor of printmaking with the School of Art + Design.