Tuesday, Jun 02, 2020

Partly Cloudy, 58 °F


Featured Stories

Outstanding Administrator and Administrative Service Awards ceremony recognizes more than 120 employees [PHOTOS]

Bowditch, Jang and Tanedo chosen for Outstanding Administrator Award

More than 120 Ohio University administrators were honored at the 2019 Outstanding Administrator and Administrative Service Awards Ceremony on April 2 in the Walter Hall Rotunda.

The annual ceremony recognizes the service of those employed for 10 years or more and also celebrates retiring administrators for their outstanding work. Every honoree received a gift according to their years of service.

First given in 1975, Outstanding Administrator Awards are conferred each year to three individuals who exemplify a strong commitment and distinguished service to Ohio University. This year’s three recipients of the prestigious Outstanding Administrator Award were:

  • John Bowditch, director of the Game Research and Immersive Design (GRID) Lab, Athens Campus
  • Ji-Yeung Jang, director of Global Affairs, Athens Campus
  • Martha Tanedo, coordinator of Financial Aid and Student Activities, Chillicothe Campus


Here are some of the best pictures from the event:

Tim Epley

Administrative Senate Chair Tim Epley greets the large crowd at the annual ceremony in Walter Hall Rotunda. 

Nellis with outstanding administrators

President M. Duane Nellis (center) poses with 2019 Outstanding Administrators John Bowditch (left) and Martha Tanedo (right). The third winner, Ji-Yeung Jang, was out of the country and couldn't attend the ceremony.

Heather Cumbo

Heather Cumbo was the most senior employee honored in 2019 with 45 years of service. She works as an ERP Developer III in the Office of Information Technology. 

Kathy Brooks

Kathy Brooks completed 40 years of service at Ohio University this academic year. She is the executive director of strategic initiatives in the Ohio University Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine.


Administrators retiring in 2019 with 30 of More Years of Service (L-R): Theresa Thompson, Gwen Whitehead, Anita Leach and Gillian Berchowitz.  

30 years

The employees recognized for 30 years of service include (L-R): Jodie Van Winkle, Thomas Massey, Kim McClain, Ann Paulins, Cindy Perry and Jay Morris. 

25 years

The 25 years of service employees were (L-R): John Bowman, Joan Butcher, Ronald Williams and Shawn Ostermann. They received an engraved ceramic Athens block.

20 years

These employees reached the 20 years of service milestone this year. They posed with the black umbrellas they received as a gift. 

15 years

The 15 years of service group received brown leather portfolios as a gift. 

10 years

The 10 years of service group was the largest and each of them received a portable charger as a gift.