Thursday, Apr 09, 2020

Mostly Cloudy, 41 °F


Featured Stories

Four OHIO faculty members chosen for MAC’s Academic Leadership Development Program

Four faculty from Ohio University have been selected as 2019-2020 Mid-American Conference (MAC) Academic Leadership Development Program (ALDP) Fellows.

Todd Eisworth, Associate Professor and Chair of Mathematics in the College of Arts and Sciences, and Nukhet Sandal, Associate Professor and Director of Global Studies in the College of Arts and Sciences, were selected for the Advanced Track. Akil Houston, Associate Professor of Cultural and Media Studies, and Natalie Kruse Daniels, Associate Professor and Director of the Environmental Studies Program in the Voinovich School of Leadership and Public Affairs, were chosen for the Introductory Track. They are among faculty and administrators chosen from various MAC institutions for the program, now in its third year.

“All nominees possessed the qualities intended for the program of leadership, achievement and administrative service,” Associate Provost for Faculty and Academic Planning Howard Dewald said. “I am confident that the four chosen will represent Ohio University well and gain a variety of experiences and training that will position them as future academic leaders.”

Each Fellow will participate in an on-campus program and two, three-day MAC-wide workshops for all fellows, one in the fall at the University at Buffalo and the second in the winter at Northern Illinois University.

The program is a professional development program to develop, prepare and enhance the ability of faculty and administrators to be effective academic leaders.

This is the third cohort of Fellows Ohio University has included in the program. In 2017-18, Christopher Hayes, Sara Helfrich and Beth Quitslund participated in the inaugural year of the program. In 2018-19, Ana Rosado Feger, Tania Basta and Patrick Barr-Melej served as Fellows.