Skip to: Main Content Search Navigation Secondary Navigation

First Russ Prize lecture to examine future of cardiovascular technology

 | Aug 26, 2019
2019 Russ Prize winner Julio Palmaz

First Russ Prize lecture to examine future of cardiovascular technology

Aug 26, 2019

Ohio University will host Julio Palmaz, one of five recipients of the National Academy of Engineering’s 2019 Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ Prize, on Mon., Sept. 9 at 4:45 p.m. in Baker University Center Theatre as part of the Russ College of Engineering and Technology Stocker Lecture Series. The talk will be broadcast via live stream.

The NAE and Ohio University awarded Palmaz and four others with the 2019 Russ Prize for innovations in coronary angioplasty, enabling minimally invasive treatment of heart disease.

His presentation “Cardiovascular Interventional Technology: Near and Distant Future” will focus on the current status of interventional technology and its evolution in the past 30 years. Palmaz will discuss what changes must take place in order to advance in the field, looking at the integration of chemistry and nano-molecular technology.

Palmaz, inventor of the first FDA-approved balloon-expandable vascular stent (1990), is Ashbel Smith Professor at the University of Texas Health Science Center in San Antonio and scientific advisor of Vactronix Scientific. In 1994, he and Richard Schatz created a modified coronary stent—two Palmaz stents joined by a single connector—which was approved by the FDA as the first stent indicated for the treatment of failure of coronary balloon angioplasty. The Palmaz stent is on display at the Smithsonian’s National Museum of American History in Washington.

He was inducted into the National Inventors Hall of Fame (2006) and National Academy of Inventors (2013) and selected for the Gold medal (2007) of the Society of Interventional Radiology. Palmaz is a Distinguished Scientist and fellow of the American Heart Association and fellow of the American Institute of Medical and Biological Engineering and Society of Interventional Radiology.

Palmaz received his M.D. in 1971 at the National University of La Plata, Argentina; with radiology specialty training at the University of California, Davis; and Martinez, California VA Medical Center.

Four additional 2019 Russ Prize recipients will give lectures this academic year:

John B. Simpson, scientist, physician and founder and former CEO of Avinger, Inc.
Baker University Center Theatre
Mon., Sept. 16 from 5-6 p.m.

Leonard Pinchuk, Distinguished research professor of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Miami, Florida
“The Three-Legged Stool of Innovation, and the Tools that Helped Establish Interventional Radiology, Cardiology, and Ophthalmology”
Baker University Center Theatre
Tues., Oct. 1 from 5-6 p.m.

Paul Yock, Martha Meier Weiland Professor of Medicine and founding co-chair of Stanford’s Department of Bioengineering and Founder and director of the Stanford Byers Center for Biodesign
Baker University Center 240/242
Tues., Feb. 18, 2020 from 12-1 p.m.

Richard Schatz, research director of cardiovascular interventions at the Scripps Heart, Lung, and Vascular Center, and director of gene and stem cell therapy
“The History of the Palmaz Schatz Stent: The Story Behind the Story”
Stocker Center 103
Thurs., Feb. 20, 2020 from 5-6 p.m.

The $500,000 biennial Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ Prize recognizes a bioengineering achievement that significantly improves the human condition. Modeled after the Nobel Prize, it was created with a charitable gift to Ohio University from Russ College alumnus Fritz Russ, BSEE ’42, HON ’85, and his wife, Dolores.