Skip to: Main Content Search Navigation Secondary Navigation

Second Russ Prize lecture welcomes innovator of modern cardiology

 | Sep 3, 2019
Simpson Announcement

Second Russ Prize lecture welcomes innovator of modern cardiology

Sep 3, 2019

Ohio University will host John B. Simpson, one of five recipients of the National Academy of Engineering’s (NAE) 2019 Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ Prize, on Mon., Sept. 16 at 5 p.m. in Baker University Center Theatre as part of the Russ College of Engineering and Technology Stocker Lecture Series. The talk will be broadcast via live stream.

The NAE and Ohio University awarded Simpson and four others with the 2019 Russ Prize for innovations in coronary angioplasty, enabling minimally invasive treatment of heart disease.

Simpson’s talk “From cowboy to country doctor” will discuss his non-traditional journey from growing up on a pony farm in Texas to becoming an interventional cardiologist at Stanford.

Simpson created a new catheter system for coronary angioplasty with an independently steerable guidewire in the central lumen of the balloon catheter, patented as the over-the-wire balloon angioplasty catheter. This contribution was essential in enabling selective and controlled catheterization of remote blood vessels while preventing inappropriate entry into collateral branches.

A member of the American College of Physicians and fellow in the American College of Cardiology, Simpson has published on a variety of medical subjects and lectured extensively throughout the world. He received his M.S. and Ph.D. in biomedical sciences from the University of Texas, and his M.D. from Duke University, completing his fellowship in interventional cardiology at Stanford University.

Three additional 2019 Russ Prize recipients will give lectures this academic year:

Leonard Pinchuk, Distinguished research professor of Biomedical Engineering at the University of Miami, Florida

“The Three-Legged Stool of Innovation, and the Tools that Helped Establish Interventional Radiology, Cardiology, and Ophthalmology”

Baker University Center Theatre

Tues., Oct. 1 from 5-6 p.m.

Paul Yock, Martha Meier Weiland Professor of Medicine and founding co-chair of Stanford’s Department of Bioengineering and Founder and director of the Stanford Byers Center for Biodesign

Baker University Center 240/242

Tues., Feb. 18, 2020 from 12-1 p.m.

Richard Schatz, research director of cardiovascular interventions at the Scripps Heart, Lung, and Vascular Center, and director of gene and stem cell therapy

“The History of the Palmaz Schatz Stent: The Story Behind the Story”

Stocker Center 103

Thurs., Feb. 20, 2020 from 5-6 p.m.

The $500,000 biennial Fritz J. and Dolores H. Russ Prize recognizes a bioengineering achievement that significantly improves the human condition. Modeled after the Nobel Prize, it was created with a charitable gift to Ohio University from Russ College alumnus Fritz Russ, BSEE ’42, HON ’85, and his wife, Dolores.