Skip to: Main Content Search Navigation Secondary Navigation
Make It Known

Journalism students take honors at regional journalism conference

Mar 20, 2018
Awards, Faculty, Journalism, Student Organizations, Students

OHIO journalism students celebrate Mark of Excellence awards at Region 4 Society of Professional Journalists Conference in Pittsburgh on March 10. Left to right: Pittsburgh senior Shane Dazen; sophomore Margaret Campbell from Fairfax, Virginia; Region 4 director and Scripps journalism alum Tom McKee with WCPO-TV in Cincinnati; senior Hayley Harding from Omaha, Nebraska; senior Adam McConville from Greensburg, Pennsylvania; sophomore Julie Ciotola from Akron, Ohio; OU SPJ adviser Nerissa Young and senior K. Grace Warner from West Milton, Ohio. / Photo provided

Journalism students take honors at regional journalism conference

ATHENS, Ohio (March 20, 2018)–Ohio University’s campus newspaper’s work moved from regional to national competition when the Region 4 Society of Professional Journalists Mark of Excellence awards were announced March 10 at Point Park University.

The Post received first place for editorial writing and best all-around non-daily student newspaper. The Post publishes a weekly print edition but posts content daily at its website, for which it was honored as a finalist in the Best Affiliated Website category.

The Post’s editorial writers are Pittsburgh senior Elizabeth Backo; senior Kaitlin Coward from Findlay, Ohio; senior Hayley Harding from Omaha, Nebraska; and senior Marisa Fernandez from North Canton, Ohio.

Pittsburgh junior Nate Doughty received first place in the Online/Digital News Videography category for his “Paris Under Attack” video published on The New Political website. The New Political is an online magazine produced by OHIO students.

The first-place winners advance to compete with winners from SPJ’s other 11 regions for the national Mark of Excellence awards. Winners will be announced in the summer.

A crew from The New Political was named a finalist in the Best Use of Multimedia category for its series of short videos explaining the candidates and issues on the 2017 Athens city election ballot. The producers included Doughty, sophomore Marilyn Icsman from Akron, Ohio; junior Marianne Dodson from Knoxville, Tennessee; and junior Connor Perrett from North Potomac, Maryland.

Senior K. Grace Warner from West Milton, Ohio, received a finalist award in the Online Feature Reporting category for a video she produced about her family’s efforts to move forward after her brother’s death. Her video is published at the Ohio Suicide Reporting Guidelines web portal.

The Region 4 competition included 398 entries from 19 colleges in large and small school categories. The judges selected 108 winners and finalists in newspaper, magazine, radio, TV, online, photography and images categories.

Ohio University competes in the large school category in Region 4, which includes Michigan, Ohio, West Virginia and western Pennsylvania. SPJ is the nation’s oldest and most broad-based journalism organization with missions of freedom of information, ethics, inclusion and professional development for its 200 professional and campus chapters. The Ohio University chapter is the reigning best campus chapter in the nation.

-From faculty reports