Voinovich School faculty and professional staff members celebrated at OHIO’s Faculty Newsmakers Gala

October 20, 2016

Five faculty and professional staff members from the Voinovich School of Leadership and Public Affairs were among those celebrated at Ohio University’s second annual Faculty Newsmakers Gala.

The following Voinovich School faculty and professional staff members were among OHIO’s 2015 faculty newsmakers: Jen Bowman, Natalie Kruse Daniels, Geoffrey Dabelko, Jason Jolley and Mike Zimmer.

The Faculty Newsmakers Gala debuted last fall as a means of honoring Ohio University faculty who elevate the University and raise its national and global profile through media coverage of their work and expertise.  Hosted by University Communications and Marketing (UCM) in partnership with the Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost, this year’s event was held the evening of Oct. 18 in the Baker University Center Ballroom.

The gala celebrated 142 faculty members – representing nine colleges on the Athens Campus and four of OHIO’s regional campuses – who were featured in more than 2,600 media reports during the 2015 calendar year.

Howard Dewald, associate provost for faculty and academic planning, had the honor of presenting special recognition awards to 19 OHIO faculty newsmakers – those who earned the most media placements in 2015 as well as those who were quoted in media reports related to the Associated Press’ “Top 10 Stories of 2015.” 

“You serve our community as distinguished educators, scholars, mentors and researchers, but tonight, we honor you as ambassadors of this University and thank you for your efforts,” Dewald said.

For more information about the Faculty Newsmakers Gala, visit https://www.ohio.edu/faculty-newsmakers/