3 minute thesis winner

OHIO graduate students receive accolades at 3 Minute Thesis (3MT®) competition

March 20, 2017

Nineteen graduate students demonstrated their research communication skills during Ohio University’s second annual 3 Minute Thesis (3MT®) competition Feb. 15.

Six students took home honors in the contest, which challenges students to describe their theses to the general public in just three minutes with only one visual aid.

The winners were:

First place: Ian Armstrong, doctoral student in chemistry, “Constructing new molecular ‘keys’ in the search of treatments for pervasive diseases.” Advisor: Stephen Bergmeier, College of Arts and Sciences.

Second place: Rebecca Totton, doctoral student in psychology, “Not all bias is equal: Differing predictors of anti-transgender and anti-gay attitudes.” Advisor: Kim Rios, College of Arts and Sciences.

Third place (tie): Enakshi Roy, doctoral student in communication studies, “Social Media Censorship in the United States and India.” Advisor: Yusuf Kalyango, Jr., Scripps College of Communication. Steffi Shook, doctoral student in media arts and studies, “There’s gotta be more to games: Failure and empathy in independent video games.” Advisor: Eve Ng, Scripps College of Communication.

People’s Choice award, doctoral student: Pornchanok (Porsche) Ruengvirayudh, Patton College of Education, “A Monte Carlo study of parallel analysis with binary variables in test data.” Advisor: Gordon Brooks, Patton College of Education.

People’s Choice award, master’s student: Karie Whitman, Voinovich School of Leadership and Public Affairs, “Improving conservation outcomes in a biodiversity hot spot: Knowledge and attitudes towards alternative agriculture techniques in Maromizaha Forest, Madagascar.” Advisor: Nancy Stevens, Heritage College of Osteopathic Medicine.

Videos of the winning presentations can be viewed on the Ohio University YouTube site:https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL_R81k8jK4l7XivafMEzghTF5Uyz77q4A.

3MT group picture

From left to right: Graduate students Karie Whitman, Rebecca Totton, Enakshi Roy, Steffi Shook and Pornchanok (Porsche) Ruengvirayudh received 3 Minute Thesis (3MT®) competition awards.  Photo credit: Daniel Owen/Ohio University. 

The event also featured presentations by 13 graduate students in the College of Arts and Sciences, Russ College of Engineering and Technology, Voinovich School of Leadership and Public Affairs and Patton College of Education: Nicholas Tomeo, Priyadarshini Gupta, Alexander Hurley, Manindra Singh, M. Hashim Pashtun, Mersad Raeisi, Kondalarao Kotturi, Abdul Fekrat, Marion Holmes, Sulaiman Batawil, Anna Palmer, Mahvand Khamesian and Zahra Khosravi.

The event was sponsored by the Graduate College to help students learn to effectively present their work to audiences outside of their areas of specialization. The 3MT® competition, developed by The University of Queensland in 2008, is held at more than 350 higher education institutions in 18 countries, according to the 3MT® website.

The judges of the competition were Geoffrey Dabelko, professor in the Voinovich School of Leadership and Public Affairs; Theda Gibbs Grey, assistant professor in the Patton College of Education; David Koonce, associate dean of the Graduate College; Usha Matta, director of international student services for the Graduate College; and Kelee Riesbeck, director of content for University Advancement.

*Original posting of the article can be found at the Office of Research Communications website.