Voinovich School faculty and professionals recognized at fourth-annual Faculty Newsmakers Gala

October 8, 2018

nellis voinovich

Nine faculty and professionals of the Voinovich School of Leadership and Public Affairs were honored Sept. 20, 2018 at the fourth-annual OHIO Newsmakers Gala.

University Communications and Marketing (UCM), in partnership with the Office of the Executive Vice President and Provost, hosted the fourth annual Faculty Newsmakers Gala in the Baker University Center Ballroom. Created as a means of honoring faculty who elevate the University and raise its national and global profile through media coverage of their work and expertise, this year’s gala celebrated 378 OHIO faculty newsmakers who made headlines in 2017.

Representing 10 academic units on the Athens Campus and all five of the University’s regional campuses, this year’s 378 faculty newsmakers were featured in 2,432 media reports and more than 1,000 news outlets during the 2017 calendar year.  

The following Voinovich School faculty and professionals were among those honored at OHIO’s 2018 Faculty Newsmakers Gala: Jennifer Bowman, Geoffrey Dabelko, Jason Jolley, Natalie Kruse Daniels, Gilbert Michaud, Holly Raffle, Anirudh Ruhil, Mark Weinberg and Michael Zimmer.

Of the 36 faculty members honored with the Keystroke Catalyst Award, three were from the Voinovich School. Geoffrey Dabelko was among the year’s top newsmakers, and Anirudh Ruhil and Jason Jolley were cited in one of the Associated Press’ Top Stories of 2017.

This year’s event marked the second time Ohio University President M. Duane Nellis attended the event. He congratulated and honored the faculty not only for their expertise but for their top-notch research efforts and innovative ways of preparing students for the world.

“Ohio University has world-class faculty, and you are living proof of that,” President Nellis said while addressing the crowd. “Through your actions and words, you inspire others to achieve greatness – students, your fellows, our university partners and me! You inspire dreams with every interview, and every article that gets published. This recognition in the media is so important because each mention builds our national reputation, enhances our position as a national research institution, and reminds readers all over the world that OHIO is teaching people to make a difference.”

Joining President Nellis was Ohio University Executive Vice President and Provost Dr. Chaden Djalali, who experienced his first Faculty Newsmakers Gala. Dr. Djalali had the honor of presenting special recognition awards to 36 OHIO faculty newsmakers – the 11 newsmakers who earned the most media placements in 2017 as well as those who were quoted in media reports related to the Associated Press’ Top Stories of 2017.

“This Gala is a time for us to celebrate and honor you, the faculty, who are committed to promoting the University’s excellence by engaging with the media,” Dr. Djalali said to this year’s newsmakers. “You are Ohio University’s ambassadors, our scholars, mentors and researchers. We thank you for your selfless efforts to raise the national and global profile of Ohio University.”

This year’s Faculty Newsmakers Gala ended with a champagne toast honoring all of OHIO’s faculty newsmakers.

“I salute you for your dedication and your support,” Carly Leatherwood, OHIO’s senior director of communication services, said during the toast. “Your efforts are continuing to underscore the media here and abroad. What we know is that Ohio University is the place where our faculty provide access to academic excellence and innovation every day to the benefit of our students, our region, our nation and our world.”